## SASFAA Conference Minutes of the Annual Business Meeting Hyatt Regency Louisville

## February 21, 2010

President Keith Reeves called the annual business session to order at 5:52 p.m.

Secretary Brad Barnett was recognized. He reminded the attendees that on February 19<sup>th</sup> an e-mail was sent to the SASFAA membership asking them to review the 2009 annual business meeting minutes that were posted to the SASFAA website and to let him know of any corrections that need to be made. Secretary Barnett did not receive any changes from the membership, so the minutes were approved.

Treasurer Jeff Dennis was recognized and presented the budget for 2010. The 2010 budget was submitted for financial review.

Immediate Past President Heather Boutell was recognized and made the report from the Nominations and Elections Committee. The members of the committee were recognized. The committee's recommendations were:

President-Elect Ruth Strum, Clearwater Christian College, FL

Brad Barnett, James Madison University, VA

Vice President Jill Rayner, North Georgia College and State University, GA

Brenda Burke, Virginia Commonwealth University, VA

**Secretary** Amy Berrier, University of North Carolina-Greensboro, NC

Earl Mayo, South Carolina Tuition Grants Commission, SC

President Reeves asked for nominations from the floor for the office of President-Elect. There being none, the nominations were closed. Nominations for Vice President from the floor were solicited. There being none, the nominations were closed. Nominations from the floor were asked for the office of Secretary. There being none, the nominations were closed.

The candidates would be available at the event following the Opening Session to meet with individuals who would like to speak with them before casting their vote. Past President Boutell provided instructions as to the voting procedures.

Past President Boutell also announced that a proposed change to increase the annual membership dues from \$25 to \$35 is on the ballot to be voted on during this election.

Voting is done electronically and the polls were opened 10 days prior to the conference. Voting polls will also be available in the Computer Lab. Polls will be open anytime the lab is open before 3:00pm on Tuesday, February 23<sup>rd</sup>, at which time voting will close.

Dee Talley provided an update on the 2020 Committee. Dee is chair of this committee.

Brenda Brown, Conference Committee Chair, provided information regarding the conference charity.

President Reeves recognized the SASFAA Past Presidents in attendance at the conference.

The business session was recessed at 6:06 p.m. until Tuesday.

February 23, 2010

President Reeves reconvened the business meeting at 8:11 p.m. on February 23<sup>rd</sup>.

Past President Boutell was recognized and announced the results of the election. Those elected were:

President-Elect Brad Barnett

Vice President Brenda Burke

**Secretary** Amy Berrier

President Reeves declared the officers duly elected. Past President Boutell thanked all the candidates. She announced there were 376 votes cast.

Past President Boutell also announced that the proposed change to increase the annual membership dues from \$25 to \$35 passed by a vote of 317 to 37.

Dewey Knight moved to destroy the electronic ballots and Dave Gelinas seconded the motion. The motion carried.

At 8:14 p.m. President Reeves declared the business meeting in recess until Wednesday morning, February 24<sup>th</sup>.

February 24, 2010

The Business Meeting was called back to order at 9:02 a.m.

There was no additional business to conduct.

At 9:03 a.m. Sandy Neel moved to adjourn the meeting and Lisanne Masterson seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Brad Barnett SASFAA Secretary 2009-2010