2017-2018 SASFAA Conference 2018 SASFAA Annual business meeting The Hilton Alexandria Mark Center Alexandria, VA

Sunday February 10th, 2018

President Oliver called the annual business meeting to order at 6:05 pm EST.

President Oliver recognized the executive board and thanked them for their service; NASFAA Chair Hamilton and the RMASFAA President were recognized. Attendees from the preconference meetings and workshops and the instructors were recognized. All first-time attendees recognized by asking them to stand.

President Oliver recognized Secretary Kruger to present the annual Business Meeting Minutes.

Secretary Kruger stated that the 2016-2017 annual business-meeting minutes have been posted to our website and the membership notified. Four technical edits submitted by the membership were updated. No other amendments or corrections been made. There were no corrections or questions from those in attendance.

President Oliver recognized Treasurer Darby to bring forward the treasurer report. No questions or corrections were submitted from those in attendance. The report will be submitted for financial review.

The chair recognized Past President Dill to present the slate of candidates for the offices of President-Elect, Secretary, and Treasurer elect. Past President Dill reviewed the work of the nominations and elections committee and its charge. The slate of candidates were presented as below:

President Elect: William "Bill" Spiers and Chad Sartini

Secretary: Wayne Kruger and Tarik Boyd

Treasurer Elect: Michael Birchett and Leah Louallen

Past-President Dill explained that voting has opened in accordance with established guidelines in the policy and procedures manual. Voting will close on Tuesday, February 13, at 3 pm EST with the election results announced Wednesday morning during the business meeting.

President Oliver recessed the annual business meeting at 6:13 pm EST until Tuesday's luncheon.

Tuesday Awards Luncheon February 13h, 2018

President Oliver has called the annual business meeting back into session at 12:00 pm EST.

NASFAA Chair Hamilton gave an overview and update on NASFAA as well as recognized

those SASFAA members serving in various capacities. Further, she recognized and provided the NASFAA Leadership Award to Jeff Dennis. Award accepted by Nancy Tate.

President Oliver recognized Vice President Tulloss to give a report on training activities. VP Tulloss's report covered information on what she has done this year with regard to training and pre-conference workshops. Additionally, her report focused on the upcoming New Aid Officers' workshop in June. She presented the theme and listed the trainers who have volunteered their time to this event. Also presented were upcoming webinars being hosted by SASFAA.

President Oliver recognized the past presidents in attendance.

President Oliver recognized Sponsorship Chair Daniel to present our vendors for the 2018 Annual Conference. There are 33 vendors at this year's conference and all vendors were recognized and asked to stand so that the membership could express their thanks.

President Oliver recognized and paid honor to those SASFAA members that have passed away during the 2017 year.

President Oliver recognized President Dill and Secretary Kruger presenting them with a plaque and thanks for service to the SASFAA board.

President Oliver called forward Past President Dill to present the awards of the association. Past President Berrier also came forward to award Nathan Basford honorary lifetime membership status. Past President and Past National Chair Day came forward to award the distinguished service award to Lisanne Masterson. The other award recipients are listed below.

Honorary Membership:

Don Rainer Lisa Tumer Shelley Park

Honorary membership with special Honor:

Nathan Basford

Special Awards:

Katie Harrison

Jenelle Handcox

Michael Bennett

President Oliver recognized the conference chair to bring forward updates.

President Oliver recessed the annual business meeting until the Wednesday morning breakfast session at 1:20 pm EST.

Wednesday February 14th, 2018

President Oliver called the annual business meeting back into session at 9:52 am EST and shared that we raised \$1500 towards this year's charity. President Oliver reviewed those that won awards yesterday.

President Oliver recognized Past President Dill to announce the election results.

Past President Dill expressed deep gratitude for those that chose to run for elected office and announced the election results. William "Bill' Spiers was elected as the incoming President-Elect and Tarik Boyd was elected as secretary, and Leah Louallen was elected as the incoming treasurer elect.

President Oliver called for a motion to destroy the ballots, Sandy Neel made a motion to destroy the ballots and electronic data, and Francisco Valines seconded the motion. With unanimous consent, the motion passed.

The chair declared the 2017-2018 annual business meeting adjourned at 9:58am EST.

President Oliver recognized the board for their work, and called for Legislative Relations Chair Spiers to bring an update on SASFAA advocacy work. Conference Chair Pendergrast gave the final update on the conference and prizes.

President Oliver called forward President Elect Erslan to symbolically pass the gavel and give a few words on the upcoming 2018-2019 year.

President Oliver has asked the members to choose the scholarship recipient but given the impact of the videos we will make sure that all get some funding.