## **February 2019 Conference Annual Business Meeting**

# **Grand Hyatt Atlanta Buckhead**

## Sunday, February 17, 2019

President Erslan called the business meeting to order at 4:46pm on 2/17/2019. The president started by recognizing first time attendees and asking them to stand. In addition, Erslan recognized pre-conference workshop and leadership symposium attendees and instructors.

President Erslan recognized Dr. Sharon Oliver, SASFAA Past President, to provide the nominations and elections report. Dr. Oliver advised that a notice was sent to membership for nominations from the floor and they were due on 2/25/2019 at 3pm. No additional nominations from the floor were submitted.

The following candidates were submitted for nomination:

### President elect:

Nancy Tate and Celena Tulloss

#### **Vice President**

Joan Bailey and April Tretter

President Erslan thanked Past President Oliver for presenting the nominations and elections report. Reiterated candidates. Past President Oliver reminded attendees that election polls opened on 2/9/2019 at 3pm and that the polls will close on 2/19/2019 at 3pm. A customized voting link was sent to each email address associated with paid SASFAA membership. The voting system in use by SASFAA is Election Buddy. Several emails have been sent to members with reminders to vote; members were directed to check their spam folder if they have not seen the emails. Election results will be announced during the continuation of the business meeting on 2/20/2019.

President Erslan invited Chester Priest, Sponsorship Chair, to recognize sponsors and present his report. Priest reported that we have 30 exhibitors and 1 conference supporter. Priest asked that each sponsor introduce themselves, their companies and what they have to offer. Priest explained gift card drawing instructions.

President Erslan recessed the business meeting at 5:18pm to resume during the afternoon of 2/19/2019.

### Tuesday, February 19, 2019

President Erslan called the business meeting back to order at 12:21pm.

President Erslan asked Secretary Boyd to provide minutes from the 2018 annual business meeting. Boyd advised that minutes had been previously sent to membership, he had received several corrections and the corrected minutes have been posted to the website. Boyd called for further corrections to minutes, and hearing none, President Erslan called for approval. The minutes were approved.

President Erslan called for Treasurer Handcox to review the Treasurer report which had been distributed on tables. There was no discussion.

President Erslan called for Vice President Tullos to provide a report. Tullos gave updates on SASFAA's webinars and activities. Tullos promoted the upcoming New Aid Officer Workshop and recognized SASFAA members who would be teaching during the workshop.

President Erslan recognized members who have provided service to the association. Erslan provided Past President Sharon Oliver with a plaque for her appreciation of service during the 17/18 year as president. Celena Tulloss was called forward for her service as Vice President for the past two years and received a recognition plaque. Jenelle Handcox, who served as Treasurer for the last 3 years, also received a recognition plaque. Erslan called Past President Sharon Oliver forward to provide annual awards. The following received awards for the year:

Honorary Membership Award (presented by Amy Berrier):

Janet Nowicki

Distinguished Service Award (presented by Elizabeth Milam):

Keith Reeves

President Erslan recognized Lori Vedder (NASFAA National Chair) to announce NASFAA Leadership Award. The regional award was awarded to Nathan Basford. As Basford could not attend the conference. Brenda Brown and Joan Bailey accepted the award on his behalf. Badford had received the award at the NASFAA conference in 2018 which was presented today.

The business meeting was moved to recess until Wednesday 2/20/2019.

## Wednesday, February 20, 2019

President Erslan called the business meeting back into order on 2/20/2019 at 10:11am. Erslan called immediate Past President Sharon Oliver to acknowledge nominees for office. Sharon thanked all who were willing to run on this year's ballot. 37% of eligible voters participated. Voting manager Angie Black, Secretary Tarik Boyd, and President Bryan Erslan certified Votes. The results were as follows.

**Vice President:** 

Joan Bailey

**President Elect:** 

Celena Tulloss

President Erslan declared Joan Bailey and Celena Tullos as the elected officers. A motion to destroy ballots was made, moved and seconded. The motion carried.

Katie Harrison, Conference Chair, presented the winners of 50/50 drawing. Total monetary donations raised were \$3,377 which were donated to the campus charities. In addition, the conference attendees collected over 400 items of canned goods to donate.

Joan Zanders, 2020 Conference Chair, promoted the next year's conference. A free conference registration was awarded to Mindy Smith.

President Erslan expressed his appreciation to candidates for running for office. He encouraged members to run next year for office since the positions of Secretary, President Elect, and Treasurer-Elect will be available.

The business meeting was adjourned at 10:30am.