2016-2017 SASFAA Conference 2017 SASFAA Annual business meeting Beau Rivage Resort and Casino Biloxi, MS

Sunday February 12th, 2017

President Dill called the annual business meeting to order at 5:18pm.

President Dill recognized first time attendees by asking them to stand and be recognized.

The chair recognized Past President Berrier to present the slate of candidates for the offices of President-Elect and Vice President. Past President Berrier reviewed the work of the nominations and elections committee and its charge. The slate of candidates was presented as below.

President Elect: Bryan Erslan and Bill Spiers Vice President: Sarah Dowd and Celena Tulloss

President Dill explained that voting has been opened in accordance with established guidelines in the policy and procedures manual. Voting will close on Tuesday, February 14th, at 3 pm EST with the election results being announced Wednesday morning during the business meeting.

President Dill recognized Vice President Morgan to give a report on training activities. His report covered information on what has been done this year with regard to training and preconference workshops but his report focused on the upcoming New Aid Officers' workshop in June.

President Dill recognized Sponsorship Chair Bryan Erslan to present our vendors for the 2017 Annual Conference. There are 34 vendors at this year's conference and all vendors were recognized and asked to stand so that the membership could express their thanks. Sponsorship Chair Erslan explained the vendor conference activity and drawing.

President Dill recessed the annual business meeting at 5:30 pm CST until Monday's luncheon.

Monday February 13th, 2017

President Dill has called the annual business meeting back into session at 12:37 pm CST.

President Dill recognized Secretary Kruger to present the annual Business Meeting Minutes.

Secretary Kruger stated that the 2015-2016 annual business meeting minutes have been posted to our website and were emailed to the membership. At this time, he had received no amendments or corrections.

President Dill asked for any amendments or corrections from the floor. Hearing none, the minutes were accepted as presented.

President Dill recognized Treasurer Jenelle Handcox to review the 1617 annual budget and give a conference attendee update. This year we have 341 registrations. The 2016-2017 SASFAA budget and balance sheet has been emailed to the conference attendees and several copies have been placed on the table. After review, if anyone has any questions, they are free to speak with President Dill, Treasurer Handcox, or Budget and Finance Chair McKenzie.

President Dill recognized Keith Reeves, former SASFAA President, to present information on the Dallas Martin Fund and the 6 regional scholarships being presented (thanks to past national chairs and in recognition of NASFAA's 50th Anniversary) SASFAA received many scholarship applications and two applications were considered the top scholarship applications. Jennifer Archer, Catawba Valley Community College, Hickory, NC. Was selected to receive the \$2,750 scholarship award from NASFAA. A second scholarship of \$2000 was awarded to Chassity Seay, Walters State Community College, Morristown, TN, on behalf of SASFAA.

President Dill called President-Elect, Dr. Sharon Oliver, to the podium to provide remarks on the 2017-2018 SASFAA year. President Dill wished Dr. Oliver good luck in her year as President as she ceremoniously passed the gavel to her. Dr. Oliver gave her remarks after giving thanks to President Dill for her service to SASFAA. Dr. Oliver presented her priorities for next year, focusing on feedback and increased training. Her hope is to provide more webinars and other training opportunities. Also, Dr. Oliver wants to create a Presidents' Corner on the SASFAA website so that members can provide feedback and submit thoughts and ideas for consideration by the SASFAA Board of Directors..

President Dill recessed the annual business meeting until the Wednesday morning breakfast session at 12:55 pm CST.

Wednesday February 15th, 2017

President Dill called the annual business meeting back into session at 9:12 am CST and recognized Past President Berrier to announce the election results and those that have been recognized by awards.

Past President Berrier recapped those that received awards at Tuesday's awards luncheon.

Honorary Membership: Carol Mowbray Daniel Miller David Cecil

Distinguished Service Award:

Brad Barnett Sandra Neel

Special Certificate of Appreciation:

Jan Lassiter

Finally, Jeff Baker was introduced by Past President Berrier and also awarded a SASFAA appreciation certificate.

Past President Berrier expressed deep gratitude for those that choose to run for elected office and announced the election results. Byran Erslan was elected as the incoming President-Elect and Celena Tulloss was elected as the incoming Vice-President.

President Dill called for a motion to destroy the ballots, Sandy Neel made a motion to destroy the ballots and electronic data, and Ron Gambill seconded the motion. With unanimous consent, the motion passed.

The chair declared the 2016-2017 annual business meeting adjourned at 9:20 am CST.