## Announcement of the SASFAA E-Meeting Wednesday August 2nd, May 18, 2017 at 3 PM EST

Motion by Elizabeth Daniel to accept the 2020 location for the conference, motion seconded by Jason Johnson.

E-meeting called to discuss and vote on the above motion.

From: Oliver, Sharon J [mailto:soliver@NCCU.EDU]Sent: Tuesday, August 01, 2017 12:27 PMSubject: E-Meeting Called to Order at 3:00 p.m. on August 2, 2017

Good Afternoon SASFAA Board Members,

I would like to sincerely apologize for requesting your assistance during a time that we all have identified as a "peak cycle". Due to the deadline for the contract, we are providing this action item to you for consideration. I am forwarding this e-mail to call SASFAA's E-meeting to order to vote on the motion presented below made by Biz Daniels and seconded by Jason Johnson for the 2020 Annual Conference Site.

## **Motion**

I would like to make a motion that we accept the contract with updates from the Hilton Main Norfolk and overflow at the Norfolk Marriott for February 9-12, 2020. Biz

## <u>Second</u>

I second. Jason J Johnson

## Action Item #1: Roll Call

**Board members please hit reply all "present, no discussion" or "present and provide any desired written discussion/questions".** Once a quorum has been established of voting members and all discussion/questions have received a response, then the Chair will call for a vote. In order to call for the vote (9 out of 15 voting members must be present).

Hotel Information Provided by the Site Selection Committee

There are updates are listed in the highlights sent yesterday. Below Biz is referring to the new catering discount, reception, and increased per diem that the board didn't have last week.

Rational:

- \* Cost effective in catering cost
- \* Short distant from international airport
- \* City is walkable, no ground transportation required
- \* 3 dining facilities on site with at least an additional 10 within a 5 minute walk
- \* Hotel offering beer/wine for vendor reception which will save cost

\* Competitive room rates and rooms for president and conference chair are comped without using comps from room revenue

\* Overflow hotel directly across street

Below are the highlights for both the Hilton and overflow at Marriott

- Hilton: 935 rooms blocked 795 required for attrition
- \* 1:40
- \* 159/night
- \* 50k F&B
- \* 3 suite upgrades at group rate
- \* Comp presidential and comp hospitality suite
- \* \$10 rebate to master
- \* 10 rooms at per diem increased from 4 since initially presented
- \* 10% off AV
- \* 5% off catering menus new since initially presented
- \* 8 deluxe king room at group rate
- \* Comp internet in rooms and meeting space
- \* 3 roundtrip airport transfers
- \* Discounted self-parking to 16
- \* Comp meeting space for summer planning meeting and rooms at group rate
- \* Visit Norfolk offering reception for board at summer planning meeting
- \* Beer/wine reception for vendor appreciation new since initially presented
- \* Meeting planner points and signing bonus
- \* 85% attrition

Marriott: 330 rooms blocked - 248 required for attrition

- \* 159/night
- \* \$10 rebate to master
- \* 75% attrition

Those responded as present with no discussion initially

Birchett, Michael D Jason Johnson Andersen, Stephen Charles Harper Thomas Vo Theresa Mays Nancy Tate Nathan Basford Jenelle L. Handcox Joan Bailey Wayne Kruger Elizabeth Daniel Sarah Dowd Jody Darby Jennifer Williams Those responding as present with discussion/comment initially

Marian Dill Bryan Erslan

Some questions/comments on going back to the state of Virginia for conferences in 3 out of three years. Responding to and discussion on this included questions on other locations, cost containment, and frequency of going to the same state vs moving around. Discussion included comments from Marian Dill, Bryan Erslan, Joan Bailey, Nathan Basford, Jennifer Williams, Sarah Dowd, Nancy Tate, Wayne Kruger, Elizabeth Daniel, Jason Johnson, Celena Tulloss

Secretary Kruger confirmed that there was quorum reached and President Oliver confirmed that there was no more questions or discussion and that all questions were answered.

President Oliver called for the vote at 3:44pm with voting to finalized 24 hours from that point.

From: Oliver, Sharon J [mailto:soliver@NCCU.EDU]Sent: Thursday, August 03, 2017 4:06 PMSubject: SASFAA Notice of Motion Passing for 2020 Annual Conference Site

SASFAA Board Members,

Based on the results provided by the Secretary, we have a majority vote to accept the contract with updates from the Hilton Main Norfolk and overflow at the Norfolk Marriott for February 9-12, 2020 for the annual conference. The motion passed. Wayne will retain copies of everyone's vote for the SASFAA archives and Tarik we will proceed with signing the contracts. Thanks everyone for your participation and feedback.

The meeting is adjourned.

Final Count:

Green indicated present and/or present/voted, gray are non-voting, and yellow not present and/or no vote recorded.

| Position        | <u>Name</u>         | <u>Present</u> | <u>Vote</u> |
|-----------------|---------------------|----------------|-------------|
| Voting          | _                   | _              | _           |
| President       | Sharon Oliver (NC)  |                |             |
| President-Elect | Bryan Erslan (KY)   |                |             |
| Past-President  | Marian Dill (TN)    |                |             |
| Vice-President  | Celena Tulloss (TN) |                |             |
| Secretary       | Wayne Kruger (FL)   |                |             |
| Treasurer       | Jody Darby (GA)     |                |             |

| AL State President            | Theresa Mays              |  |
|-------------------------------|---------------------------|--|
| FL State President            | Thomas Vo                 |  |
| GA State President            | Stephen Andersen          |  |
| KY State President            | Michael Birchett          |  |
| MS State President            | Stacy Walker              |  |
| NC State President            | Jason Johnson             |  |
| SC State President            | Jennifer Williams         |  |
| TN State President            | Charles Harper            |  |
| VA State President            | Elizabeth (Biz)<br>Daniel |  |
| Non-Voting                    |                           |  |
| Budget and Finance            | Nancy Tate                |  |
| Conference                    | Runan Pendergrast         |  |
| Global Services               | Joan Bailey               |  |
| Electronic Services           | Chad Sartini              |  |
| Membership                    | Jenelle Handcox           |  |
| Communication and<br>Outreach | Sarah Dowd                |  |
| Site Selection                | Tarik Boyd                |  |
| Legacy-Long Range<br>Planning | Nathan Basford            |  |
| Legislative Relations         | William Spiers            |  |