Southern    Association   of    Student  
          Financial   Aid   Administrators

2023-2024 SASFAA Executive Board

Daniel T. Barkowitz, President

Assistant Vice President
Office of Student Financial Assistance & Student Employment
University of Miami

Whitten University Center
1306 Stanford Drive, Suite 2275
Coral Gables, FL  33146

Phone: (305) 284-2270

Leigh Ann Hussey, President-Elect

Director of Financial Aid

University of West Georgia

1601 Maple Street

Carrollton, GA 30118

Phone: (678) 839-6421

Michael Morgan, Past President        


Director of Financial Aid
Rhodes College
2000 North Parkway
Memphis, TN  38112

Phone: (901) 843-3808


Katie Conrad, Vice President

Sr. Associate Director of Financial Aid
Florida International University
11200 SW 8th St. PC 125
Miami, FL 33199

Phone: (305) 348-2340


Nicole Patrick, Secretary

Director of Financial Aid
Mississippi University for Women
1100 College Street MUW-1614
Columbus, MS 39701

Phone: (662) 329-7114

Carolyn Sparks, Treasurer

Associate Vice President for Enrollment
Director of Financial Aid
429 North Church Street
Spartanburg, SC 29303

Phone: (864) 597-4162


Cierra Smith, Alabama State President

Director of Student Financial Services
Eligibility and Reporting
Northwest-Shoals Community College
800 George Wallace 
Muscle Shoals, AL 35661

Phone: (256) 331-5369

Dameion Lovett, Florida State President

Program Director
University of South Florida

Office of Financial Aid

4202 E. Fowler Ave., SVC1102

Tampa, FL 33620

Phone: (813) 974-5462

Kristie Teasley, Georgia State President              

Associate Director, Financial Aid Technology

Fiscal Services - Student Financial Aid

585 Cobb Ave NW
Room 1501, MD 0119
Kennesaw, GA 30144

Phone: (470) 578-3240

Michelle Standridge, Kentucky State President

Director of Financial Aid
Spalding University
901 S 4th Street
Louisville, KY 40203

Phone: (502) 873-4333


Heather Dearman, Mississippi State President

Director of Financial Aid
Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
51 Main Street

Perkinston, MS 39573

Phone: (601) 928-6225

Rachel Cavenaugh, North Carolina State President

Senior Director of Financial Aid and Veterans Services

Cape Fear Community College

411 N. Front Street

Wilmington, NC 28401

Phone: (910) 362-7317

Zachary Christian, South Carolina State President

Deputy Director
SC Higher Education Tuition Grants Commission
111 Executive Center Drive, Suite 242
Columbia, SC  29210

Phone: (803) 896-1122

Jennifer Byrd, Tennessee State President

Director, Financial Aid
Nashville State Community College
120 White Bridge Rd
Nashville TN 37209

Phone: (615) 353-3249


Ryan McNamara, Virginia State President

Coordinator of Financial Aid
Central Virginia Community College
3506 Wards Road
Lynchburg, VA 24502

Phone: (434) 832-7812 

Jenelle L. Handcox, Budget and Finance

Senior Associate Director

Office of Student Financial Aid

University of Georgia

220 Holmes-Hunter Academic Building

Athens, GA 30602

Phone: (706) 542.6147


Gail Beggs, Co-Conference Chair

Director, Financial Aid

Coastal Alabama Community College

1900 US-31

Bay Minette, AL 36507

Phone: (251) 580-2154


Melanie Gillespie, Co-Conference Chair

Director of Financial Aid

Tri-County Technical College

PO Box 587

Pendelton, SC 29670

Phone (864) 646-2083


Michael Birchett, Equity, Inclusion and Global Issues

Principal Consultant

Collaborative Solutions

524 Elm Tree Ln

Lexington, KY 40508

Phone: (859_ 948-7730

Michelle Hemmer, Communications and Outreach Chair

Forgivable Loans Higher Education Program Manager
North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority

Phone: (919) 248-4632

Jennifer Davis, Electronic Services Chair

Technical Services Manager

Trident Technical College

7000 Rivers Avenue

North Charleston, SC 29406

Phone: (843) 574-6902


Rachelle Feldman, Legislative Relations Chair

Vice Provost, Enrollment 

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

174 Country Club Rd

Campus Box 2200

Chapel Hill, NC 27599

Phone: (919) 966-3992


Sarah Baumhoff, Membership Chair

Director of Student Support

Kennesaw State University

585 Cobb Ave NW 
Room 1425, MD 0119 
Kennesaw, GA 30144

Phone: (470) 578-7799

Joan Bailey, Site Selection Chair


Director of USF Health Financial Aid
University of South Florida
12901 Bruce B Downs Blvd., MDC 42
Tampa, FL 33612

Phone: (813) 974-8961

Biz Daniel, Sponsorship Committee Chair 

Director of Relationship Strategy & Management
ELM Resources
Evington, VA 24550

Phone: (434) 532-5648

Celena Tulloss, Association Governance Committee

Director of Scholarship Implementation & Operations

University of Utah (remote) 

Knoxville, TN 

Bill Ayers, Special Projects Chair (Partner Advisory Board)

Head of Campus DevelopmentCollege Ave Student Loans
Tampa, FL

Phone: (813) 833-0599

Chad Sartini, Special Projects Chair (Governing Document Review)

Director of Financial Aid, Veteran Affairs, and Records
Virginia Western Community College
3094 Colonial Ave
Roanoke, VA 24015

Phone (540) 857-6347


Alabama      Florida      Georgia      Kentucky      Mississippi      North Carolina      South Carolina      Tennessee      Virginia 



Southern Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators

For technical assistance:

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software